It’s been a while

I think it’s been over a year and a half since I last wrote in my blog.

A lot has happened since I left for India as a fresh graduate. I’ve lived in a foreign country halfway across the world for four months, started a life in a new city, started my first ever “real” job, bought my first car, got a new driver’s license and actually started driving myself everywhere (special thanks to the project I was on at the time that essentially forced me to drive around immediately), developed some opinions about what I like and dislike in the workplace and in coworkers, have coworkers, changed accounts, learned to adjust quickly to new surroundings, got my first promotion, learned how to swim (!), and now am diving into the wonderful world of app development and watercolor painting.

A lot of firsts. A lot of changes.

Although.. do I also mean a lot of changes in me also? Hmm. Have I myself changed a lot in the past year and a half? It’s a long time, so I must have changed, right? Or no, since a year and a half isn’t actually that long of a time?

Looking back to assess whether the answer to that second question is a “Yes” or a “No”, I’m finding myself deep in thought. This is proving to be a bit more thought provoking than I thought.

I think I’d like to say that I’ve changed, but I think what I really mean is that I’ve grown. I’m richer in life experiences, technical skills, and relationships, sure, but that doesn’t define me, right? How much have I changed, if at all?

Not sure where I’m going with the rest of this post, as I cannot respond to that question right now. Not sure if I’ve changed at all. I don’t want this to turn into a “What defines oneself” type of train of thought.. so I’ll end this point here.

I think I’ll be posting more regularly on my blog. After living over a year without a personal laptop, I got a MacBook Air to use for Android app development. It’s a hobby to make some apps that I really want, but couldn’t find in the market. Should be fun. Difficult, but fun. Very excited about it to say the least. I hope to use this new hobby to sharpen my coding skills and learn some new languages.

Anyway, that’s it for today’s entry. I’m gonna go get some milk. Frosted flakes are love.

Leave a Reply

